Wi-Fi Hotspots for San Jose Students

Child using laptop for school work.

Project Overview

San José Public Library (SJPL) and the City of San Jose are proud to partner with the Santa Clara County Office of Education (SCCOE) and AT&T to support students’ academic success by providing FREE access to the internet for the 2020-21 school year through 12,800 Wi-Fi hotspot devices.

Once you, your family, or your students have a Wi-Fi hotspot device through SJ Access, check out these exciting SJPL programs:

Resources for Students, Families, and Teachers

Project Highlights

Eligibility
K-12 students living in San Jose and attending a public school are eligible.

The Device
The Unite Express 2 Category 13 Hotspot device comes with an unlimited high speed data plan available for the 2020-2021 school year. Up to 15 mobile-enabled devices (e.g., laptops, tablets, or smartphones) can access Wi-Fi through a single hotspot device. All devices that have been configured for schools will also have Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) filtering. Devices are distributed with a setup guide that is translated in Spanish, Vietnamese, Mandarin, and Tagalog.

Distribution Plan
Students will be able to access hotspot devices directly through their school sites. The Santa Clara County Office of Education (SCCOE) is working with schools and districts to understand their community needs and will continue to do so throughout the year. SJPL is managing the delivery of hotspot devices to individual sites.

Cost
This service is being offered at NO COST to schools or students, and there will be no fees for damaged, lost, or stolen devices.

Privacy
SJPL will NOT know which students are using the devices. Only schools will have that information.

Participating Local Education Agencies

Technical Support

If you are having technical issues with an SJ Access hotspot device, many questions can be answered by these resources:

 

For more help, please reach out to the technical support contact at your local education agency:

Technical Support Contact Information for Local Education Agencies

Alpha Public Schools
Andrew Chen (Systems Administrator)
andrew@alphapublicschools.org
415-260-9968
 

Alum Rock Union School District
Avtar Gill (Director of Technology)
avtar.gill@arusd.org
IT Helpdesk: 408-928-6917
 

Berryessa Union School District
Martin Cisneros (Director of Technology)
MCisneros@busd.net
408-923-1884
 

Cambrian School District
Mujtaba Rauf (Director of Information Technology)
raufm@cambriansd.com
408-377-2103 x1114
 

Campbell Union High School District
Tech Support Hotline: 408-558-3080
Available Mon-Fri 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
 

Campbell Union School District
Trevor Walker (Director of Technology)
twalker@campbellusd.org
408-364-4200 x7161
 

Cupertino Union School District
Mahmoud Abed (Sr. Director, Information Technology)
abed_mahmoud@cusdk8.org
 

Discovery Charter Schools
Debbie Devine (Business Manager)
ddevine@discoveryk8.org
408-243-9800
 

Downtown College Prep
Maurice Bayani and Delfin Libaste (IT Coordinators)
mbayani@dcp.org, dlibaste@dcp.org
 

East Side Union High School District
Charlie Fortes (Comp Tech Support Engineer)
fortesc@esuhsd.org
408-347-5144
 

Escuela Popular
Andrew Kemp Dahlberg (Knowing Technologies Representative)
support@escuelapopular.org
 

Evergreen Elementary School District
Sameh Sweilem (IS Manager)
ssweilem@eesd.org
408-270-6850
 

Fremont Union High School District
Ronald McNeil (Network Systems Specialist)
ronald_mcneil@fuhsd.org
408-522-2268
 

Franklin-McKinley School District
Samir Sweilem (Director of IT)
samir.sweilem@fmsd.org
408-283-6221
 

KIPP Public Schools - Northern California
Tech Support Website
Tech Support Hotline: 1-855-915-KIPP (5477)
 

Luther Burbank School District School
Kazuko Agueros (Technology Specialist)
kagueros@lbsdk8.org
Office Phone Number: 408-295-1814 (ask for Kazuko Agueros)
 

Moreland School District
District Phone Number: 408-874-2900
 

Morgan Hill Unified School District
Brandon Coelho (IT Coordinator)
coelhob@mhusd.org
408-201-6049
 

Mount Pleasant Elementary School
District IT Helpdesk Support: 408-223-3724
Tony Soto – tsoto@mpesd.org
Gabe Sosa – gsoza@mpesd.org
 

Oak Grove School District
Parent Tech Support Website
techsupport@ogsd.net
888-372-1233
 

Orchard School District
Luis Pamintuan (IT Support Specialist)
lpamintuan@orchardsd.org
 

Perseverance Preparatory
Michelle Martinez (Operations Manager)
mmartinez@perseveranceprep.org
408-600-2057
 

Rocketship Public Schools
Christopher Castro (Regional Director of Operations)
ccastro@rsed.org
 

San Jose Conservation Corps & Charter School
John O’Keefe (IT Director)
jokeefe@sjcccs.org
408-334-4370
 

San Jose Unified School District
Patrick Scanlan (Supervisor in Technology and Data Services)
pscanlan@sjusd.org
 

Santa Clara County Office of Education
Abby Almerido (Academic Technology Specialist)
aalmerido@sccoe.org
408-453-6763
 

Santa Clara Unified School District
Joe Ayala (Director of Technology)
jayala@scusd.net
 

Summit Public Schools
Steven Dixon (Tech Support)
sdixon@summitps.org
650-381-9634
 

Sunrise Middle School
Omar Reynoso (Tech Support)
omar@sunrisemiddle.org
408-206-4779
 

Union School District
Technical Support
support@unionsd.org
 

University Preparatory Academy
Andrew Yau (Director of Student Services)
ayau@upatoday.com
408-723-1839
 

Voices College Bound Language Academies
Voices Flagship site: Matt Daily (Tech Support)
mdaily@voicescharterschool.com
Other sites: TruTech
support@trutechnical.com
 

Questions?

If you are a K-12 student (or their caregiver) and are interested in finding out how to get an SJ Access hotspot device, please reach out to your teacher or school.

For all other questions, please contact:
Amanda Otte
Literacy Program Specialist, SJPL
amanda.otte@sjlibrary.org
1-408-596-3163