房屋与财产研究

桑伯恩地图,电话簿和城市目录torIES可以帮助您在 California Room.

常规产品的 California Room 在 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 图书馆有很多资源可供研究tor你家的从城市目录tories会根据Sanborn地图显示谁住在哪里以及他们在哪里谋生,这些地图显示了一个世纪前您的物业的位置和建筑物轮廓, California Room 可以帮助您研究旧房子。

入门

圣何塞市及其周围地区torIES(1870-1979)– 城市指挥官tory列出了居住在城市中的个人名称以及其居住和职业位置。 要列出来,必须在目录中列出某个人或财产在城市范围内tory发布(当今的圣何塞大部分地区未包含在早期的城市目录中tories。)在1911年之前,只包括财产所有人。 从1911年版开始,还包括18岁以上的配偶和子女的名字。 直接tor1913年之前的IE仅以姓氏命名。 1913年,添加了街道索引。 此功能对那些正在研究的房屋很有帮助,因为人们可以查找特定的地址来查找其居民。 请注意,街道名称已随时间改变; 例如,在1913年,圣何塞的第14街变成了第17街。 California Room。 门牌号和包裹也可能会更改。 早期圣何塞区tor包括该地区的其他城市; 的 市直销tor索引 将帮助您确定覆盖范围。 每个目录前面的索引键tory将为您提供有价值的信息,以破译符号和缩写。 在一些较旧的目录中tor例如,列出了财产的占用和所有权。 圣何塞市迪雷克tor为 1870, 18871920 可在线获得。 看我们的 市直销tories页面 有关如何使用此资源的更多信息。

海恩斯·克里斯·克罗斯tories和Pacific Bell反向索引torIES 这些方向tor可以追溯到1960年代中期。 当发现1979年City Direc之后,谁对您的房子有用tor停止发布。 它们还可以用于圣何塞以外的城市和非法人区域。

圣何塞市建筑许可证从1950年代至今的建筑许可证可在《圣何塞在线许可证》中找到。 的 California Room 在缩微胶卷上具有圣何塞建筑许可证(1940-1986)。 他的tory圣何塞 拥有1895年至1930年代的圣何塞建筑许可证。

圣克拉拉县税收评估员劳斯莱斯税务评估员名单可在税务评估员办公室获得,现在也可以在线获得。 除此之外 California Room 在缩微胶卷上有圣克拉拉县税收评估师劳斯莱斯(1979 -2007)。 这些记录可以帮助确定圣克拉拉县特定财产的所有权。 没有列出每年持有的税款。

California Room 索引该来源为 California Room (地图,剪报,剪贴簿和研究收藏)指的是圣何塞和圣克拉拉县的人,地点和事件。tory。 如果您不确定拼写,则AZ索引可能会有所帮助。

他的toric资源发明tory,圣何塞市这个发明tory标识了他的圣何塞的建筑tor具有艺术意义和建筑意义。 在土地使用和开发计划期间,将对此类结构进行仔细的审查。 还有 圣何塞市地标注册处 线上。

圣克拉拉县遗产资源发明tory这个发明tory由圣塔克拉拉县出版tor1975年和1979年的医疗委员会。每个版本都列出了他的toric地标和建筑物(按社区分类),简短说明和黑白照片。 1975年版包括考古遗址和地图。 1979年版列出了他的toric注册名称,并具有建筑师/建造者/设计师的索引。

他的toric资源调查2000年圣何塞市中心这项由圣何塞市(SanJosé)市资助的调查研究了他市中心市区的所有房产。toric的意义。 这些财产被认为是他的toric在此卷中列出,并附有他的toric评估工作表。

圣何塞市toric资源评估表这个三联套装包含了所有toric由圣何塞规划部收集的过去25年中圣何塞物业的评估表。 几率很小,但是如果有人已经做了toric评估您的财产将为您节省大量时间和精力。

视觉发明tor他的tor圣何塞的IC与考古遗址– 在1970年代初期,由一群当地人tor在圣何塞(SanJosé)较旧的街区中漫步的人们和建筑师在寻找值得关注的建筑。 选择的每个结构都具有建筑风格,tor评估。 进行了简短记录,并在可能的情况下采访了所有者/租户。 还拍摄了照片。 的 California Room 有一份这五卷调查的副本。 原始文件位于存档中 他的tory圣何塞。 这个视觉发明tory在 California Room.

地图可能会有所帮助

桑伯恩火灾保险地图这些地图详细显示了位于圣何塞中心的地段,房屋和企业。 提供涵盖1867-1970年加利福尼亚州各城市的Sanborn地图 用您的借书证。 可以在国会图书馆网站上找到有关地区城市的其他数字化桑博恩人。 在1932年,1939年,1950年,1958年和1962年覆盖圣何塞市的原始桑本地图可在 California Room 营业时间。 您的房屋在旧的桑伯恩(Sanborn)地图中的外观可以为房屋的年代,原始建筑轮廓和任何附属建筑的位置提供线索。

他的tor圣克拉拉县地图集– 此地图集由Thompson&West于1876年出版,给出了圣何塞和圣克拉拉县大型房地产所有者的名字。 这是圣克拉拉县的第一本综合地图集,对于识别1876年圣何塞市区范围之外的土地所有者特别有用。 该地图集可在网站上找到 California Room 和在线 大卫·朗姆西(David Rumsey)torical Map Collection.

圣何塞市印刷书籍 这些地图显示了圣何塞市所有地段的边界以及业主的名字。 这些地图不指示是否存在结构,但它们确实允许您在很早的时候找到与某物业相关的名称。 1871年XNUMX月出版的《圣何塞城市街区》已经出版 。 以及《 圣何塞市第一病房 从大约1882年到1886年。可在网站上找到1909年城市街区册的副本以及更新到1924年代的1940年多册套装。 California Room. 他的tory圣何塞 具有 圣荷西街区书籍,约1925-1965年.

圣塔克拉拉县Brainard地图集 这是1880年代中期至后期出版的一系列非常有用的地图。 与其他地图不同,此地图集仅显示圣塔克拉拉县的农业非都市地区。 除了显示财产所有者外,它还经常对每个财产进行简短说明,以解释那里的财产。

城市和街道地图 常规产品的 California Room 拥有圣何塞和圣克拉拉县的大量旧地图。 尽管这些地图可能没有显示建筑物或土地所有者,但它们可以帮助查找名称已更改的街道或不存在的街道。 可以使用来搜索地图 California Room 索引.

寻找更多关于谁住在那里的信息

市长tor实体,物业地图和其他文件通常会为您提供拥有或居住在您老房子里的人的名字。 通常可以通过检查来源(例如大笔录,人口普查记录和ob告)来了解有关这些人的更多信息。 请参阅 家谱提示 以开始浏览网页。

有用的网站

市县办

圣克拉拉县档案馆:

地图和天线

本地资源

House and Property Research

The California Room at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library has many resources for researching the history of your house. From city directories which show who lived where and what they did for a living to Sanborn maps which show the location and outlines of buildings on your property a century ago, the California Room can help you research your old house.


Getting Started

San Jose City and vicinity Directories (1870-1979) – City Directories have listings by street name and surname beginning in 1913, before this they are by surname only. To be listed, a person or property must have been located within city limits when the directory was issued. Early San Jose directories include other cities in the area; the City Directories Index will help you determine coverage. An index key at the front of each directory will give you valuable information in deciphering symbols and abbreviations. In some of the older directories, occupation and ownership of property is listed. San José City Directories for 1870, 1887 and 1920 are available online. See our City Directories page for more information on how to use this resource.

Haines Criss-Cross Directories and Pacific Bell Reverse Directories  – These directories date from the mid-1960s. They are useful for finding out who lived in your house after 1979 when the City Directories cease publication. They can also be used for cities and unincorporated areas outside San Jose.

City of San José Building PermitsBuilding permits from the 1950s to the present can be found at San Jose Online Permits. The California Room has San Jose building permits (1940-1986) on microfilm. History San Jose has San Jose building permits 1895 to 1930s.

Santa Clara County Tax Assessor RollsTax Assessor Rolls are available at the Tax Assessor's Office and are also now available online. In addition, the California Room has Santa Clara County Tax Assessor Rolls (1979 -2007) on microfilm. These records can help determine ownership of a specific piece of property in Santa Clara County.

California Room IndexThis source indexes materials in the California Room (maps, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and research collections) referring to people, places, and events in San José and Santa Clara County History. The A-Z index can be helpful if you are not sure of spelling.

Historic Resources Inventory, City of San JoséThis inventory identifies structures in San José of historical and architectural significance.  Such structures would receive careful scrutiny during land use and development planning. There is also the City of San José Landmarks Registry online.

Santa Clara County Heritage Resource InventoryThis inventory was published by the Santa Clara County Historical Commission in 1975 and 1979.  Each edition lists historic landmarks and buildings by community with brief descriptions and black and white photographs for a few. The 1975 edition includes archeological sites and maps.  The 1979 edition lists historic register designations and has an index of architects/builders/designers.

Historic Resources Survey Downtown San José Year 2000This survey funded by the City of San José examined all the properties in the downtown core area for historic significance.  Those properties deemed historic are listed in this volume accompanied by their historic evaluation worksheet.

City of San José Historic Resources Evaluation SheetsThis three-binder set contains all the Historic Evaluation Sheets collected by the San José Planning Department for properties in San José over the last 25 years.  The odds are small, but if someone has already done an historic evaluation of your property it will save you much time and effort.

Visual Inventory of Historic & Archeological Sites in San José – Compiled in the early 1970s by a group of local historians and architects who walked the older neighborhoods of San José looking for noteworthy structures. Each structure chosen was given an architectural and historical evaluation. Brief notes were taken and the owner/tenant was interviewed if possible. A photograph was also taken. The California Room has a copy of this five volume survey. The original is in the archive at History San José.  This visual inventory is on site in the California Room.

Maps Can Be Helpful

Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsThese maps show in great detail lots, houses, and businesses located in central San José.  Sanborn Maps covering cities in California, 1867-1970 are available online with your library card. Original Sanborn Maps covering the City of San Jose for 1932, 1939, 1950, 1958, and 1962 are available for viewing during California Room open hours. The appearance of your house in an old Sanborn Map can give a clue to its age, as well as it original architectural outline and the location of any outbuildings.

Historical Atlas of Santa Clara County – Published in 1876 by Thompson & West, this atlas give the names of large property owners in San José and Santa Clara County.  This was the first comprehensive atlas of Santa Clara County, and is especially useful for identifying landowners outside the 1876 San José city limits.  This atlas is available on site in the California Room and online at David Rumsey Historical Map Collection.

City of San José Block Books – These maps show the boundaries of all the lots in the City of San Jose along with the names of the property owners.  The maps do not indicate if a structure is present, but they do allow you to find a name associated with a piece of property at a very early date. The San Jose City Block book published in March 1871 is available online. As well as The Block Book for the First Ward of the City of San Jose from approximately 1882 to 1886. A copy of the 1909 City Block Book as well as a 1924 multi volume set updated to the 1940s are available on site in the California Room. History San Jose has San Jose Block Books circa 1925-1965.

Brainard Atlas of Santa Clara County – This is a very useful series of maps published in the mid to late 1880s.  Unlike other maps, this atlas shows only the agricultural, nonurban areas of Santa Clara County.  As well as showing property owners, it often gives a brief description about each property explaining what was being grown there. 

City and Street Maps The California Room has a large collection of old maps for San José and Santa Clara County.  While these maps may not show structures or land owners, they can help locate streets whose names have changed or streets which no longer exist. Maps can be searched using the California Room Index.

Finding More About Who Lived There

City directories, property maps and other documents often will give you the names of people who either owned or resided in your old house.  It is often possible to learn more about these people by checking sources such as great registers, census records, and obituaries. Please see Genealogy Tips to get started.

Useful Websites

City & County Offices

Santa Clara County Archives:

Maps & Aerials

Local Resources