Alert message

 The City of San Jose strongly recommends all people (ages 2+) wear a mask at all SJPL branch locations. Masks are still required at the King Library.

Alert message

 On Tuesday, May 17, 1 – 4 AM, the website will be down for maintenance. You can still use the library catalog and events website during that time.

Youth Commission

Current Group Of Youth Commissioners City of San José Youth Commission logo, featuring a green fountain pen tip

About the Commission

The Youth Commission is recognized as the official youth advisory group to the Mayor and City Council. Youth Commissioners develop policy recommendations concerning youth and support youth who serve their community through civic engagement and participation.

More Details

The Youth Commission is the advisory group to the Mayor and City Council, which empowers and encourages youth to be civically engaged through local and city-wide events and initiatives. The Youth Commission promotes resources and opportunities available to youth and provides equitable access and support to marginalized youth communities. The Youth Commission establishing ordinance can be found in the Municipal Code 2.08.4800. Their role aligns with the San José Education Initiative City Council Policy 0-30. According to a recent memo, the Library Department is the City lead in establishing the framework and quality standards supporting the San José Education Initiative Policy, thus the oversight and management of the Youth Commission has been shifted to the Library Department from the Parks, Recreation, and Neighborhood Services Department.

Core Values and Honor Code

Core Values:

  1. Responsibility
  2. Teamwork
  3. Empathy
  4. Inclusivity
  5. Empowerment

Honor Code:

  • Prioritize the Youth Commission over other responsibilities (to a reasonable extent).
  • Attend all meetings, trainings, and other mandatory events (exempting excused absences).
  • Thoroughly complete and submit all work on time, such as monthly reports and Commissioner assignments.
  • Maintain an active level of communication.
  • Inform staff members of any absences at least 24 hours in advance.
  • Abide by Brown Act in all forms of communication.
  • Understand you represent the City of San José in all public settings.
  • Using technology only when appropriate and only for commission related work.
  • Consistently practice active listening, attentiveness, and maintaining respect for all communities.
  • Be the voice for youth in your district.

Meeting Agenda & Minutes

Attending Meetings

The Youth Commission meets the 4th Monday of the month beginning at 6:30 pm. The Youth Commission does not meet in the months of July or December. Meetings are predominantly held in Council Chambers, but always refer to the meeting agenda to confirm the meeting location.

Commissioner Responsibilities

  • Present recommendations to City Council and Neighborhood Services and Education Committee.
  • Present an annual work plan to the Neighborhood Services and Education Committee.
  • Attend all Commission meetings. Commissioners cannot miss three consecutive regular meetings. Absence from three consecutive regular meetings equates to a resignation from the Commission. Attendance is tracked for all meetings.
  • Hold forums in community to involve youth in decision-making processes.
  • Help sponsor the annual San José Citywide Youth Conference.
  • Host annual youth advisory council summit for input on the City Budget.
  • Commissioners may be required to spend additional hours attending trainings or ad hoc working meetings.

Commission Membership and Roster

The Youth Commission has 11 members, including one member appointed by each City Council District and one citywide/at-large member appointed by the Mayor. Each Commissioner is appointed to a two-year term. There is a limit of two terms for a total of four years.

Commissioners must be 14 to 20 years of age to apply for a place on the Youth Commission. Commissioners must reside in the City District they wish to represent (Look up your City District). Those interested the Youth Commission can submit an application through the City Clerk. For those over 20, consider participating in the City of San José's Library and Education Commission.

Apply for the Youth Commission

Gordon Chen

Gordon Chen
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 1

generic icon of a person


Term Expires: *
Represents: District 2

Nicole V. Hoang

Nicole V. Hoang, Chair
Term Expires:
Represents: District 3

Amelia Uutingco

Amelia Uytingco
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 4

generic icon of a person

Andrew Lieu

Term Expires: *
Represents: District 5

Anaiy Somalwar

Anaiy Somalwar
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 6

Ananya Sriram

Ananya Sriram
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 7

Paula Escobar

Paula Escobar, Vice Chair
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 8

Agam Singh

Agam Singh
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 9

Alexander Lee

Alexander Lee
Term Expires: *
Represents: District 10

Aroshi Ghosh

Aroshi Ghosh
Term Expires: *
Represents: Citywide

Youth Herald Blog

Youth Herald: First In-Person Youth Commission Meeting in the Pandemic

The San Jose Youth Commission adopts a Hybrid model for their first in-person meeting since March 13, 2020.

Youth Commission
05/02/2022 - 6:00 PM

Youth Herald: Environmental Town Hall

The San Jose Youth Commission proudly presents the Youth Environmental Town Hall on May 16, 2022.

Youth Commission
04/04/2022 - 5:35 PM

Youth Herald: The Watchful Eye

The merge between cellphone and user.

Youth Commission
03/28/2022 - 12:00 PM