COHS學生常見問題解答

Career Online High School 畢業生在太陽落山時炫耀他們的文憑,而聲波跑道在他們身後閃爍著霓虹燈

什麼是 Career Online High School (COHS)?

Career Online High School (COHS)是通過以下網站獲得的認可的在線高中文憑和職業認證計劃: San José Public Library. 圖書館向有限數量的合格、積極進取的學生提供獎學金(免費註冊)。 了解更多

誰可以申請 Career Online High School?

居住在聖何塞的成年人(19 歲及以上)擁有電流 San Jose Public library 卡信譽好,想拿到高中畢業證的可以申請。 您必須至少完成 8 年級。 18 歲及以下的學生應通過其學區繼續接受高中教育。 因為所有的教學都是用英語進行的,所以您必須能夠自如地閱讀、寫作和說英語。 所有說明都是在線提供的,因此您必須熟悉使用技術或至少熟悉如何使用它,包括定期發送和接收電子郵件以及解決技術問題。

如果我沒有借書證或罰款,該怎麼辦?

取得借書證,請訪問帶有您的圖片ID並在其中標有您當前地址的圖書館分支,並使用您的當前地址以您的名義開具賬單。 如果您有一張罰款卡,請詳細了解如何還清罰款或自願減少我們欠我們的款項 活動。 例如, 當志工減罰款,您可以註冊並自願參加活動。 志願人員每投入一小時,就可以減少欠款20美元。 您也可以上網獲取 圖書館卡.

該計劃將如何選擇人員?

申請人將被要求參加在線調查並成功通過(70% 或更高)必備課程,才有資格參加個人面試。 先決條件是在所選職業領域完成一個學期的課程。 如果未來的學生通過了面試(70% 或更高),他們將被邀請參加一個定向,在那裡他們將了解有關該計劃和可用資源的詳細信息。 當獎學金可用時,合格的學生將被考慮獲得免費獎學金。 入學人數有限,需求量很大。 時間管理和自我激勵是成功的基本要素。 該計劃的所有階段都需要 70% 或更高的及格分數。

我什麼時候可以開始我的課程?

如果您成功完成上述選擇過程, San José Public Library 可能會授予您價值 1,500 美元的免費獎學金,以繼續參加該計劃。 屆時,圖書館代表將與您討論您的承諾,並為您提供入門所需的所有信息。 如果獲得獎學金,您將在試用期 30 天,同時在您的職業領域完成至少兩個學期。 如果您沒有通過試用期,您將不會再有機會註冊。

我要花多長時間完成課程?

根據您是否有合格的學分可以轉學以及您每週在該計劃中花費多少時間,您可以在短短 5 個月內獲得高中文憑和職業證書。 您將有不超過 18 個月的時間來完成該計劃。 平均而言,保持領先的人在大約 12 個月內完成該計劃。

它要多少錢?

Career Online High School 是通過提供的程序 San José Public Library 作為對社區的免費服務,並履行其支持終身學習、社區外展和當地經濟發展的使命。 這 San Jose Public Library 基金會向希望獲得第二次機會獲得認可的高中文憑和職業證書的成年人提供免費獎學金,幫助他們進入 COHS。 學生應該通過他們在課程作業上的努力和時間來證明他們對完成課程的承諾。 獎學金是有限的。 成功完成先修課程並不能保證一定會獲得獎學金。 如果您向您所在的一所或多所美國高中或大學索取成績單,您可能需要支付大約 10 美元的費用。

如果我不符合獎學金資格怎麼辦?

您可能還有其他選擇。 請聯繫 cohs@sjlibrary.org 獲取更多訊息

會有候補名單嗎?

是。 這次沒有獲得獎學金的合格新生可能會被列入候補名單。 將來可能會提供更多獎學金。

我高中畢業了。 我完成的所有課程都將計入該文憑嗎?

一旦您完成了資格認證程序並通過了試用期,COHS 代表將分析您的成績單並為您完成的任何滿足學分轉移要求的課程申請學分。 只有學術學期會轉移。 最多可以轉移 14 個學分(英語、數學、社會研究、科學、健康和個人健身)。 您可能需要支付一定的費用才能將您的成績單從您在美國的高中直接發送到 COHS 進行評估。 將您以前學校的成績單發送到 COHS 需要大約 10 美元的處理費。 如果您在美國上學,COHS 評估是免費的 如果您在美國以外的地方上學,您需要付費才能評估您的外國學校成績單,然後將其發送到 COHS。 如果你成功通過了一些 GED 主題測試,您可以在通過COHS試用期後,要求將您的記錄發送給COHS進行評估。

我需要畢業多少學分?

學生將有長達 18 個月的時間來完成該計劃,該計劃由 36 個學期(18 個學分)組成。 被錄取的學生如果在美國上學,最多可以從他們以前的學校轉移數學、社會研究、科學、英語、健康和個人健身的 14 個學分 在其他國家上學的學生將必須要么完成所有課程作業,要么自費評估他們的學校成績單。 根據學生能夠轉移多少學分,該課程可以在短短 5 個月內完成,但平均為 12 個月。 您需要每月完成至少 2 個學期才能滿足最低課程要求並按時畢業,但建議學生每月完成 3 個或更多學期。

我需要花多少時間來完成我的課程?

圖書館建議您每周至少花費10個小時(最少)來學習課程。 預計您將按照建議的步調完成課程,而您的學術教練將幫助您保持學習進度rack! 由於該程序是自定進度的,因此建議您提高速度並每兩週完成一個學期以上。

該課程是否提供英語以外的其他語言版本?

不可以。所有課程都是英語授課,學生應該聽,讀,讀英語都很自如。

我什麼時候可以上課程?

您可以每週24天,每天7小時使用互聯網訪問課程。

如果我的課程需要幫助怎麼辦?

您的學術教練將為您提供認證的指導tor,如有需要,他們將為您提供其他學術支持。 San José Public Library 提供資源以幫助您保持同步。 請致電我們的辦公室以獲取更多信息。

什麼是職業組合?

為了給您找到工作所需的工具,COHS會教您創建基本文件,例如簡歷和求職信。

將提供哪種職業認證?

通過 COHS,學生可以在以下十個領域之一獲得職業證書:

學生和社區成員可以了解更多關於 職業證書.

如果我選擇兒童保育等領域,我將如何訓練與兒童一起工作?

COHS為您提供了獲得兒童保育證書所需的所有課程。 您將需要找到當地的代理商來完成所需的實踐培訓時間。

學生會獲得通識教育發展 (GED) 證書嗎?

否。這不是GED程序。 成功的畢業生將獲得認可的高中文憑和職業證書。 但是,如果您已經通過了GED的一部分,則可以在通過試用後直接將記錄發送給COHS。

GED和高中文憑有什麼區別?

儘管GED和高中文憑都很重要,但兩者之間還是有一些差異。 其中最重要的一點是,一些大學,機構和組織要求獲得高中文憑,並且可能不接受GED。 除了提供高中文憑外,COHS還為學生提供了獲得職業證書以及完成其他工作準備文件和培訓的好處。 GED由計算機上提供的四個測試組成。 聯繫 Santa Clara County Office of Education 在聖何塞附近找到測試中心。 前往 GED 網站以了解有關測試的更多信息。 的 San José Public Library 有 GED準備材料 可用。

如果我完成了除了數學和英語的 CAHSEE 考試之外的所有高中要求和課程怎麼辦?

如果您在12年至2003年之間完成了2015年級並獲得了所有高中學分,但沒有通過CAHSEE考試,那麼您現在就有資格獲得高中文憑。 有關您的資格,請與您最近的高中或學區聯繫。

如果我沒有計算機或互聯網,該怎麼辦?

請聯繫 San José Public Library 討論您的選擇。 學生每週需要使用可上網的計算機至少完成10個小時的課程學習。 如果計算機訪問有問題,我們將與您一起確定圖書館或社區的位置,您可以在其中完成工作。 您也許還可以從 San Jose Public Library。 請訪問我們的 技術訪問頁面 檢查可用性。 

學生必須檢查以確認計算機符合系統要求 這裡:閱讀所有技術要求並單擊 技術系統檢查 鏈接。

我需要買教科書嗎?

沒有; 但是,英語課程可能需要小說,您可以從小說中購買或查看 San José Public Library.

Is Career Online High School 認可的?

是的。 Career Online High School 由 Cognia/SACS/NCA/NWAC 認可(或許可)。 Cognia 是授予南方學院和學校協會認證和學校改進委員會 (SACS CASI) 認證印章的國家委員會。

Cognia 為學區和個別學校提供國家認可的認證,代表美國和全球 36,000 個國家的 80 所公立和私立學校和學區,教育了 25 萬學生。 了解更多關於地區認證流程的信息,請訪問 www.cognia.org.

圖書館是否提供其他資源用於成人教育和工作準備?

San José Public Library (SJPL)致力於幫助人們滿足他們的教育和工作準備需求。 我們在圖書館分支機構提供求職程序和計算機幫助。 SJPL Works 位於三樓 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 總圖書館。 那裡的員工可以為您提供幫助,從尋找工作到創辦小企業。

San José Public Library Partners in Reading 成人精簡版racy程序還提供一對一和小組教學tor適合想要建立基本的閱讀,寫作和技術技能的成年人。 Partners in Reading 可以幫助準備將來可能會在獲得基本技能之後想要獲得文憑或GED的學生。 您也可以使用 在線學習計劃 通過 San José Public Library的網站可以進行更多研究,並掌握您的基本技能。

成功的COHS學生要畢業需要做什麼?

成功完成該計劃的學生每天都會學習。 即使他們很忙並且生活中很多事情,他們都將獲得高中文憑作為優先事項。 他們致力於改善時間管理和組織技能,以便他們可以高效地完成課程工作並儘可能多地學習。 他們定期與 Partners in Reading 員工及其COHS學術教練。 他們在需要時尋求幫助,但他們也有自我激勵和獨立工作的舒適感。 最重要的是,他們有決心並且能夠完成開始的事情。 COHS學生在 San José Public Library 非常成功。 自70年118月該計劃開始以來,他們的畢業率達到2016%,並且已有XNUMX多名學生畢業。

COHS Student FAQs

Career Online High School graduates show off their diplomas as the sun sets and the sonic runway flashes neon lights behind them

What is Career Online High School (COHS)?

Career Online High School (COHS) is an accredited online high school diploma and career certification program available through the San José Public Library. The library offers scholarships (free enrollment) to a limited number of qualified, motivated students. Learn more at: https://www.careeronlinehs.gale.com/ca/career-certificates/.

Who can apply to Career Online High School?

Adults (19 and over) who live in San José, have a current library card in good standing, and want to earn a high school diploma can apply. You must have completed at least the 8th grade. Students 18 and under should continue their high school education through their school district. Because all instruction is in English, you must be comfortable reading, writing, and speaking in English. All instruction is offered online, so you must be comfortable using technology or at least familiar with how to use it, including sending and receiving emails regularly and troubleshooting technology problems.

What if I don't have a library card or my card has fines?

To get a library card, visit a library branch with your picture ID that has your current address on it and a bill in your name with your current address. If you have a card with fines, learn more about paying off your fines or volunteering to reduce the amount that you owe with our Access Programs. For example, with Volunteer Away Your Fines, you can sign up and volunteer for an event. For every hour you volunteer, you can reduce the amount you owe by $20.

How will people be selected for the program?

Applicants will be required to take an online self-assessment and successfully pass (70% or higher) the prerequisite course to qualify for an interview. If prospective students pass the interview (70% or higher) they will be invited to an orientation, where they will learn details about the program and available resources. When scholarships become available, qualified students will be considered for a free scholarship. Enrollment is limited and demand is high. Time management and self-motivation are essential elements for success. All phases of the program require a passing score of 70% or higher.

When can I start my coursework?

If you successfully complete the selection process above, San José Public Library may award you a free scholarship valued at $1,250 to continue in the program. At that time, a library representative will speak with you about your commitment and provide you with all of the information you need to get started. If awarded a scholarship, you will be on probation for 30 days while completing at least two more semesters. If you do not pass probation, you will not be offered another opportunity to enroll.

How long will it take me to complete the program?

Depending on whether you have qualified academic credits to transfer and how much time you spend in the program each week, you can earn your high school diploma in as few as 5 months. You will be given no more than 18 months to complete the program. On average, people who stay on pace complete the program in about 12 months.

How much does it cost?

Career Online High School is a program offered through San José Public Library as a free service to the community and to fulfill its mission of supporting lifelong learning, community outreach, and local economic development. The library awards free scholarships for enrollment into COHS to adults who want a second chance to earn an accredited high school diploma and a career certificate. Students should demonstrate their commitment to completing the program through their effort and time spent on coursework. Scholarships are limited. Successful completion of the prerequisite course does not guarantee a scholarship will be awarded. If you request a transcript from one or more of your U. S. high schools or colleges, there will probably be a small fee (around $15) that is your responsibility to pay.

What if I don't qualify for a scholarship?

There may be other options available to you. Please contact cohs@sjlibrary.org for more information.

Will there be a wait list?

Yes. Qualified new students who do not receive a scholarship this time may be placed on a wait list. More scholarships may be offered in the future.

I dropped out my senior year of high school. Will all of the courses I completed count toward this diploma?

Once you have completed the qualification process and have passed probation, a COHS representative will analyze your transcripts and apply credits for any coursework you completed that fulfills the credit transfer requirements. Only academic semesters will transfer. A maximum of 14 credits (English, math, social studies, and science) can be transferred. There may be a small fee that you must pay to send your transcript directly from your high school in the U. S. to COHS to be evaluated. A processing fee of around $15 is to send the transcript from your previous school to COHS. The COHS evaluation is free if you went to school in the U. S. If you went to school outside the U. S., you will need to pay to have your foreign school transcript evaluated and then sent to COHS. If you successfully passed some of the GED subject tests, you can request that your records are sent to COHS to be evaluated after you pass the COHS probation period.

How many credits will I need to graduate?

Students will be given up to 18 months to complete the program, which consists of 36 semesters (18 credits). Students accepted into the program can transfer up to 14 credits from their former school(s) if they went to school in the U. S. Students who went to school in other countries will have to either take all the coursework or have their school transcript evaluated at their own cost. Depending on how many credits the student is able to transfer, the program can be completed in as few as 5 months, but the average is 12 months. You will need to complete at least 2 semesters per month to fulfill minimum program requirements and graduate on time.

How much time will I need to dedicate to my coursework?

The Library recommends that you spend at least 10 hours per week (minimum) on your coursework. You are expected to maintain the recommended pace completing your coursework, and your academic coach will help keep you on track! Since this program is self-paced, it is recommended that you move faster and complete more than one semester every two weeks.

Is the coursework available in languages other than English?

No. All coursework is in English.

When can I work on my courses?

Courses are available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with internet access.

What if I need help with my coursework?

Your academic coach will connect you with a certified instructor, who will provide you with additional academic support when needed. San José Public Library offers resources to help you stay on pace. Please call our office for more information.

What is the career portfolio?

To give you the tools you need to find a job, COHS will teach you to create essential documents, such as your resume and a cover letter.

What type of career certification will be offered?

Through COHS, students may earn a career certificate in one of the following ten areas:

  • Certified Protection Officer
  • Child Care and Education
  • Commercial Driving
  • Food and Hospitality
  • General Career Preparation
  • Home Care Professional
  • Homeland Security
  • Hospitality and Leisure
  • Office Management
  • Retail Customer Service

Students and community members can learn more about the Career Certificates at https://www.careeronlinehs.gale.com/ca/career-certificates/.

If I choose an area such as child care, how will I train to work with children?

COHS provides you with all of the coursework you need in order to qualify for a child care certification. You will need to find a local agency to fulfill the hands-on training hours required.

Will students receive their General Education Development (GED) Certificate?

No. This is not a GED program. Successful graduates will earn an accredited high school diploma and a career certificate. However, if you have already passed part of the GED you can send in your records directly to COHS after you pass probation.

What is the difference between a GED and a high school diploma?

While both the GED and the high school diploma are important, there are several differences between them; among the most significant is the fact that some colleges, institutions and organizations require a high school diploma and may not accept the GED. In addition to providing a high school diploma, COHS gives students the benefit of earning a career certificate and completing additional job preparation documents and training. The GED consists of four tests offered on a computer. Contact the Santa Clara County Office of Education to find testing centers near San José. Visit the GED website to learn more about the tests. The San José Public Library has GED preparation materials available.

What if I completed all my high school requirements and courses except passing the CAHSEE tests in math and English?

If you completed 12th grade and all high school credits between the years 2003 and 2015 but didn’t pass the CAHSEE exams, you may be eligible to receive your high school diploma now. Contact your most recent high school or school district regarding your eligibility.

What if I don't have a computer or internet access?

Please contact the San José Public Library to discuss your options. Students will need to complete at least 10 hours of coursework per week on a computer with internet access. If computer access is a problem, we will work with you to identify a library or community location where you might be able to complete your work. Students must check to confirm that a computer meets the system requirements here: https://www.careeronlinehs.gale.com/ca/the-program/technology-requirements/. Read all of the technology requirements and click on the system check link.

Will I need to buy textbooks?

No; however, the English coursework may require novels, which you can buy or check out of the San José Public Library.

Is Career Online High School accredited?

Yes. Career Online High School is accredited (or licensed) by AdvancED/SACS. AdvancEd is the national commission that confers the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement (SACS CASI) accreditation seal.

AdvancED provides nationally recognized accreditation for school districts and individual schools and represents 27,000 public and private schools and districts across the United States and in 65 countries around the world, educating 15 million students. Learn more about the District Accreditation Process at www.advanc-ed.org.

Does the Library offer other resources for adult education and job preparation?

The San José Public Library (SJPL) is committed to helping people meet their education and job preparation needs. We offer job search programs and computer assistance at library branches. SJPL Works is based on the third floor of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library. Staff there can help with everything from searching for a job to starting a small business.

The San José Public Library Partners in Reading adult literacy program also offers one-to-one and small group tutoring for adults who want to build basic reading, writing, and technology skills. Partners in Reading can help prepare students who may want to earn a diploma or GED in the future after building their basic skills. You can also use online learning programs through the San José Public Library's website to study more and brush up on your basic skills.

What do successful COHS students need to do in order to graduate?

Students who have been successful in the program study every day. They make getting their high school diploma a priority, even though they are very busy and have a lot going on in their lives. They commit to improving time management and organizational skills so they can complete their coursework efficiently and learn as much as possible. They communicate regularly with Partners in Reading staff and with their COHS academic coach. They ask for help when needed, but they are also self-motivated and comfortable working independently. Most of all, they are determined and able to finish something they start. COHS students at the San José Public Library have been extremely successful. They have a 70% graduation rate.