YA Friday: Tropes Spring Eternal – The Never-Ending Series

The words Tropes Spring Eternal in front of YA books.

Keeps going, and going, and going...

These are the literal never ending stories. How many books does it take to start and finish a good story? Often times it only takes 1 book. A lot of the time it takes 3. And sometimes it takes 18 or more, plus several side stories.

Authors sometimes can't get the story out of their heads and need to share more like Marie Lu's return to the Legend series with her newest addition Rebel. Or all the side characters and adventures spinning off of Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse. Or even the start to the world of Panem in Suzanne Collin's anticipated prequel to The Hunger Games, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes.

So while most of the longest series in YA listed below have officially finished... you never know. There still might be more to tell.

The Selection Series

The Selection, book cover

The Selection by Kiera Cass

America Singer is chosen to compete in the Selection--a contest to see which girl can win the heart of Illea's prince--but all she really wants is a chance for a future with her secret love, Aspen, who is a caste below her.

The Elite, book cover
The One, book cover
Happily Every After, book cover
The Heir, book cover
The Crown, book cover

Shatter Me Series

Shatter Me, book cover

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Ostracized or incarcerated her whole life, seventeen-year-old Juliette is freed on the condition that she use her horrific abilities in support of The Reestablishment, a postapocalyptic dictatorship, but Adam, the only person ever to show her affection, offers hope of a better future.

Destroy Me, book cover
Unravel Me, book cover
Fracture Me, book cover
Ignite Me, book cover
Restore Me, book cover
Shadow Me, book cover
Defy Me, book cover
Reveal Me, book cover

Imagine Me, book cover

The Shadowhunter Chronicles

City of Bones, book cover

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The Shadowhunter Chronicles, also known as Shadowhunters, is comprised so far of three series (twelve novels as of 2019) and several short stories written by American author Cassandra Clare, along with some companion books, a graphic novel, manga, film, and TV series adaptations.

Each of the stories follow the supernatural conflict between the Shadowhunters, a group of powerful human-angel hybrids, and Downworlders, a society of mythological beings, and their battle against demons. The Infernal Devices series is the prequel to The Mortal Instruments series.

The reading order below is suggested by the author.

City of Ashes, book cover
City of Glass, book cover
Clockwork Angel, book cover
Clockwork Prince, book cover
Clockwork Princess, book cover
City of Fallen Angels, book cover
City of Lost Souls, book cover
City of Heavenly Fire, book cover
The Bane Chronicles, book cover
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, book cover
Lady Midnight, book cover
Lord of Shadows, book cover
The Queen of Air and Darkness, book cover
The Red Scrolls of Magic, book cover
Ghosts of the Shadow Market, book cover
Chain of Gold, book cover


Lorien Legacies

I Am Number Four, book cover

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

The series follow the story of nine human-looking aliens brought to Earth when they were six years old. Their purpose is to grow into their powers and return to their planet, Lorien, and get it back from the evil Mogadorians. The teenagers have been protected by a charm, which only allows them to be killed in a set order, and by non-gifted guardians called Cêpan.

Up to the beginning of the first book, six have survived and reached 15 years. As their powers, their Legacies, start to develop they can't stay hidden anymore.

The Power of Six, book cover
The Lost Files : the Legacies, book cover
The Rise of Nine, book cover
The Lost Files : Secret Histories, book cover
The Fall of Five, book cover
The Lost Files : Hidden Enemy, book cover
The Revenge of Seven, book cover
The Lost Files : Rebel Allies, book cover
The Fate of Ten, book cover
Zero Hour, book cover
 United as One, book cover
 Generation One, book cover
Trial by Fire, book cover
 Fugitive Six, book cover
Out of the Shadows, book cover

 Return to Zero, book cover

The Vampire Diaries

The Vampire Diaries, book cover

The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith

Presents the first two volumes in the Vampire Diaries series, in which popular and beautiful high school senior Elena finds herself torn between two vampire brothers, the dark and brooding Stefan who wants to protect her from the horrors of his past and the dangerously attractive Damon, who is determined to use her to get revenge on his brother.

The Fury, book cover
Nightfall, book cover
Shadow Souls, book cover
Midnight, book cover
Phantom, book cover
Moonsong, book cover
Destiny Rising, book cover
Unseen, book cover
Unspoken, book cover
Unmaksed, book cover
Origins, book cover
Bloodlust, book cover
The Craving, book cover
The Ripper, book cover
The Asylum, book cover

The Compelled, book cover

Pretty Little Liars

Pretty Little Liars, book cover

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

When one of their tightly-knit group mysteriously disappears, four high school girls find their friendship difficult to maintain when they begin receiving taunting messages from someone who seems to know everything about their past and present secrets.

Flawless, book cover
Perfect, book cover
Unbelievable, book cover
Pretty Little Secrets, book cover
Wicked, book cover
Killer, book cover
Heartless, book cover
Wanted, book cover
Twisted, book cover
Ruthless, book cover
Stunning, book cover
Burned, book cover
Ali's Pretty Little Lies, book cover
Crushed, book cover
Deadly, book cover
Toxic, book cover
Vicious, book cover