家譜提示

他的toric家庭照片,文件和古董眼鏡

輕鬆入門

California Room Index –這個獨特的來源為聖何塞和聖塔克拉拉縣的人物,地點和事件提供了80,000多個索引,tory。 如果您不確定拼寫,則AZ索引可能會有所幫助。

MyHeritage圖書館版 – 這個國際家譜電子資源包括人口普查記錄、出生、婚姻和死亡記錄、軍事記錄、報紙文章和家譜。 使用您的借書證登錄並開始研究您的家譜。

結婚記錄 - “ 加州婚姻指數(1960-1985) 可以在線訪問。 這是薩克拉曼多重要記錄辦公室中記錄的結婚許可證的總索引-它確實 包含結婚證的副本。 聖克拉拉縣個人婚姻的實際記錄可以通過聖克拉拉縣的書記員辦公室獲得。

出生記錄 - “ California Room 沒有收集出生記錄。 但是,下面的索引可以幫助搜索出生記錄。 請注意,索引不是實際記錄本身,而是編譯數據的列表。 請參閱聖克拉拉縣文員記錄辦公室獲取官方文件。

死亡記錄 - “ 加利福尼亞死亡指數(1940-1997) 可在線獲得。 這是記錄死亡的主索引,並且確實 包含死亡證明的副本。 聖克拉拉縣個人的實際死亡記錄可以通過聖克拉拉縣的書記員辦公室獲得。 社會保障死亡指數有從 1962 年到最近幾個月的條目,可以在網上找到。

訃告 –請參閱我們的 訃聞搜尋 尋找訃告的提示指南。

大寄存器 –大名冊是按字母順序列出的給定縣所有已登記選民的清單。 到1944年為止,大名冊可以幫助在聯邦人口普查期間找到大多數男性公民。大名冊至少列出了姓名,年齡和地址。 這些記錄也可能有助於確定一個人的確切住所,在該處居住多長時間,在註冊時的職業以及其入籍狀態幾年。 在聖何塞搜尋個人需要知道轄區號碼。 可以在以下頁面找到以下重要寄存器 California Room:

  • 聖克拉拉縣大寄存器
        精裝本:1867、1879、1880、1884、1890、1896
        縮微膠卷:1900-1944
  • 聖何塞市大寄存器
        精裝本:1946年,1948年,1950年,1952年和1956年

聖何塞市迪雷克torIES(1870-1979) –城市指揮官torIES的街道名稱和姓氏始於1913年。在此之前,它們僅是姓氏。 要列出來,必須在目錄中列出某個人或財產在城市範圍內tory已發布。 早期聖荷西迪雷克tor包括該地區的其他城市; 的 城市指揮官tor索引 將幫助您確定覆蓋範圍。 每個目錄前面的索引鍵tory將為您提供有價值的信息,以破譯符號和縮寫。 在一些較舊的目錄中tor即,財產的職業和所有權被列出。 查看我們的 城市指揮官tories頁面 有關如何使用此資源的更多信息。

人口普查記錄 –美國人口普查記錄對於研究家庭成員非常有用tories。 1790年進行了人口普查,此後每10年進行一次。 的 California Room 在1850年至1930年之間,微縮膠卷上保存著聖克拉拉縣的人口普查記錄,但1890年的人口普查時間表除外,所有這些都在1921年被華盛頓特區內政部大火燒毀。聯邦人口普查的個人記錄對於72年,依法。 1940年的人口普查於2012年通過國家檔案館進行了數字化發布。 大多數普查索引和時間表可以通過免費網站(例如FamilySearch.org,Internet檔案庫等)在線找到。 儘管人口普查中提出的問題時間表隨著時間的推移而發生了變化,但記錄至少包含“姓名”,“年齡”,“性別”,“Race”和指定地址的居民“職業”。

他的縣torIES –他的縣tories(1870年代-1920年代)通常被稱為“馬克杯書”,因為原始出版物中的傳記略圖。 縣他的tor包括有關早期商人,企業和早期本地客戶的許多方面的信息tory和付錢以包括自己的傳記的當地居民。 的 California Room 收集了加利福尼亞縣的他的tor可以在開放時間查看的實例。 

當地資源

另見: 聖克拉拉縣歷史組織

免費家譜網站

  • 查找Grave.com -來自美國各地的用戶提供的墓地紀念館收藏。
  • 亨廷頓早期加州人口項目 -公眾可以訪問加利福尼亞州的所有信息toric任務記錄器。
  • 辛迪的名單 -全面,分類和交叉引用的鏈接列表,這些鏈接指向您在線訪問家譜研究站點。
  • 埃利斯島旅客到達記錄 -從51年到1892年通過埃利斯島和紐約港的超過1957萬移民,乘客和船員的乘客名單,需要註冊。
  • FamilySearch.org -族譜組織在全世界收集,保存和共享家譜記錄已有100多年的歷史(來自耶穌基督後期聖徒教會),需要註冊。
  • USGenWeb項目 -由志願者提供的網站,支持美國每個縣和州的本地家譜研究。
  • CAGenWeb項目 -作為USGenWeb項目的一部分,可以在加利福尼亞州的站點進行搜索,其中列出了每個縣的成立日期,上級縣,縣所在地和項目協調員tor。 每個縣的頁面都有不同的文件和信息,具體取決於其志願者的工作。 信息可以包括墓地記錄,報紙文章,他的tor協會,姓氏索引,來自他人的查詢,人口普查文件,重要記錄來源,土地記錄和ob告。
  • 家譜網 -SFgenealogy最初成立是為了為舊金山家譜及其tory在互聯網上,並已擴展到鄰近縣。
  • 國家檔案館 -國家檔案局(NARA)擁有許多對家譜研究有用的記錄,例如1790-1930年的聯邦人口普查; 服役和退休金記錄,ca。 1776-1900年; 移民記錄(1820-1957); 和入籍記錄。
  • 美國國會圖書館 -當地他的tory&族譜參考服務。 鏈接到有用的家譜網站。 在許多種族和文化類別和主題領域中的有用書目,包括:非裔美國人,歐洲人,西班牙裔,亞洲人,輪船旅客名單,入境信息港口和埃利斯島入境。
  • 美國數字公共圖書館Ob告 -來自美國各地的許多ob告數字化收藏。

Genealogy Tips

historic family photos, documents, and an antique pair of glasses

Getting Started

California Room Index – This unique source indexes more than 80,000 references to people, places, and events in San José and Santa Clara County History. The A-Z index can be helpful if you are not sure of spelling.

MyHeritage Library Edition – This international genealogy eResource includes census records, birth, marriage and death records, military records, newspaper articles, and family trees. Use your library card to log in and get started researching your family tree.

Marriage Records – The California Marriage Index (1960-1985) can be accessed online. This is a master index to marriage licenses on file in the Office of Vital Records in Sacramento - it does not contain copies of marriage licenses. The actual records for marriages of individuals in Santa Clara County can be obtained through the Santa Clara County's Office of the Clerk-Recorder.

Birth Records – The California Room does not hold a collection of birth records. However, the indexes below can assist in the search for birth records. Please note that indices are not the actual records themselves, but a list of compiled data. Please refer to the Santa Clara County Clerk-Recorder's Office for official documents.​

Death Records – The California Death Index (1940-1997) is available online. This is a master index to deaths on file and does not contain copies of death certificates. The actual death records for individuals in Santa Clara County can be obtained through the Santa Clara County's Office of the Clerk-Recorder. The Social Security Death Index has entries from 1962 to recent months and can be found online.

Obituaries – This San José Public Library blog entry provides tips to help you find an obituary using SJPL resources. The Santa Clara County Library District offers a free search for 3 obituaries per month.

Great Registers – Great Registers are alphabetical lists of all registered voters in a given county. Great Registers can help locate most male citizens between federal census years through 1944. At minimum, the Great Registers list name, age, and address. These records may also help determine the exact residence of an individual, how long they lived there, their occupation at the time of registration, and for some years their naturalization status. Searching for an individual in San José requires knowing the precinct number. The following Great Registers can be found in the California Room:

  • Santa Clara County Great Register
    Hardback: 1867, 1879, 1880, 1884, 1890, 1896
    Microfilm: 1900-1944
  • City of San José Great Register
    Hardback: 1946, 1948, 1950, 1952, and 1956
     

San José City Directories (1870-1979) – City Directories have listings by street name and surname beginning in 1913, before this they are by surname only. To be listed, a person or property must have been located within city limits when the directory was issued. Early San José directories include other cities in the area; the City Directories Index will help you determine coverage. An index key at the front of each directory will give you valuable information in deciphering symbols and abbreviations. In some of the older directories, occupation and ownership of property is listed. San José City Directories (1870-1955) are also available on microfiche in the Reference Department when the California Room is closed. See our City Directories page for more information on how to use this resource.

Census Records – The United States population census records are useful in researching family histories. There was a population census taken in 1790 and every 10 years thereafter. The California Room holds Santa Clara County census records on microfilm from 1850 – 1930, with the exception of the 1890 census schedules, all of which were destroyed by fire in the Department of Interior in Washington D.C. in 1921. Individual records from the federal population censuses are confidential for 72 years, by law. The 1940 census became available digitally in 2012 through the National Archives. Most census indices and schedules can be found online through free websites such as FamilySearch.org, the Internet Archive, and others. While the schedule of questions asked in the population census have changed overtime, the records contain at minimum the "Name," "Age," "Sex," "Race," and "Occupation" of residents at a given address.

County Histories – County Histories (1870s -1920s) are often referred to as "Mug Books," because of the biographical sketches in the original publications. County histories include information on early merchants, businesses, and many aspects of early local history and the local inhabitants who paid money to have their biographies included. The California Room has a collection of California County Histories that can be viewed during open hours.

Local Sources

See also: Santa Clara County History Organizations

Free Genealogy Websites

  • MyHeritage Library Edition - SJPL library patrons have free access to this international genealogy eResource with your library card.
  • The Huntington's Early California Population Project - public access to all the information contained in California's historic mission registers.
  • Cyndi's List - Comprehensive, categorized and cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
  • Ellis Island Passenger Arrival Records - Passenger lists of more than 51 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1957, registration required.
  • FamilySearch.org - Genealogy organization gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide for over 100 years (from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints), registration required.
  • USGenWeb Project - Volunteer-provided websites supporting local genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States.
  • CAGenWeb Project - Part of the USGenWeb project, California's site is searchable, listing each county's formation date, parent county, county seat, and project coordinator. Each county's page has different documents and information available depending on the work of its volunteers. Information can include cemetery records, newspaper articles, historical societies, surname indexes, queries from others, census files, vital records sources, land records, and obituaries.
  • Sfgenealogy.com - SFgenealogy was initially formed to create a niche for San Francisco genealogy and history on the internet, and has expanded to neighboring counties.
  • National Archives - The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has many records that are useful for genealogical research, such as the Federal population censuses, 1790-1930; military service and pension records, ca. 1776-1900; immigration records (1820-1957); and naturalization records.
  • Library of Congress - Local History & Genealogy Reference Services. Links to helpful genealogy websites. Bibliographies of useful books in many ethnic and cultural categories and subject areas, including: African-American, European, Hispanic, Asian, ship passenger lists, ports of entry information, and Ellis Island
  • Digital Public Library of America Obituaries - Many digitized collections of obituaries from all parts of the United States.