SJ Aspires 常見問題

常見問題


什麼是核心獎?

核心獎是那些對成為優秀大學申請者至關重要的獎項。 這些可能包括賺取或維持特定的GPA水平,提交大學和經濟援助申請以及參加您想要就讀的大學的競爭性候選人所需的課程。 您可以在自己的內部使用獎勵類型過濾 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 按核心或補充性對獎項進行排序。

您可以通過核心獎獲得最高$ 3,000的獎勵。 要記住的一件事是,您不能用另一項或補充性的獎項來代替一個核心獎。 如果您沒有在截止日期之前獲得特定的核心獎,則您將無法在其他地方彌補這些資金。

什麼是補充獎?

補充獎是可能增加您對大學的知識,使您成為大學的更強求職者或幫助您探索職業目標的那些事情。 由於SanJoséAspires相信學生應該探索自己的興趣,因此您可能每年或多次在高中時都能獲得這些獎項。 想想一些事情,例如加入俱樂部,參加運動或學術團隊,獲得工作經驗,接受培訓並志願服務。 您可以在自己的內部使用獎勵類型過濾 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 按核心或補充性對獎項進行排序。

在高中期間,您可能會獲得最高2,000美元的補充獎。 您不需要做每個獎項; 獎項可以混合搭配,您也許可以多次獲得同一獎項。

我該如何申請?

目前,學生在Overfelt高中上XNUMX年級(XNUMX-XNUMX年級),在SanJosé高中上XNUMX年級(XNUMX-XNUMX年級),並在Opportunity Youth Academy(第XNUMX年級)中上XNUMX年級。 XNUMX-XNUMX年)有資格通過以下方式獲得獎勵: SJ Aspires。 這些班級的學生將自動註冊該計劃-如果您在造訪帳戶方面需要幫助,請發送電子郵件 aspires@sjlibrary.org.

如何才能獲得SanJoséAspires獎?

這取決於個別獎項。 SanJoséAspires正在與每個地區建立協議,以盡可能使學生無縫獲得獎項,我們將與每所學校合作,以實現這一目標。 但是有時候您做的事情是您的學校不了解或不能追查。 對於這些獎項,您將需要直接向SanJoséAspires提交文件。 在你的 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 您將可以直接從 SJ Aspires 獎項標籤上載文件。 您的“知識中心”標籤中有一些獎勵模板 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 準確顯示每個獎項所需的文件。

由於SanJoséAspires的範圍和所涉及的學生人數很多,我們將仔細檢查學生提交的文檔的隨機樣本。 因此,文件必須由成人(例如,監督學生的志願者經歷的主管或從事課外活動的提供者)進行驗證。 SanJoséAspires保留審核學生提交的文件的權利。 被發現提交虛假文件的學生可能會被從該計劃中刪除。 該決定由SanJoséAspires自行決定。

我怎麼知道我已經獲得了獎項?

學生可以登錄到他們的 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 看看進度和已完成的獎項。 SanJoséAspires還將發送電子郵件有關正在處理的獎勵以及需要其他文件時。 為了及時接收此信息,請確保在用戶配置文件中打開了通知功能。

我什麼時候可以收到實際資金?

當您收到非營利性大專院校入取通知,您便會收到SanJoséAspires基金。 SanJoséAspires了解每個學生都有不同的興趣和職業目標,SanJoséAspires希望協助您實現這些目標。 您可以參加社區學院,非營利性貿易學校或四年制學院或大學。

如果我決定不想在高中畢業後就讀專上學校怎麼辦?

SanJoséAspires了解學生高中畢業後可能會出於各種原因而改變計劃。 您可以在預計的畢業日期後最多三年內獲得獎項。

例如,預計到9年秋季在Overfelt高中上2020年級的學生將在2024年31月畢業。這意味著,他們必須在2027年XNUMX月XNUMX日之前申請獲得SanJoséAspires獎。

如果我沒有按計劃的時間表從高中畢業怎麼辦?

在預計的畢業年份後的三年內,您仍然可以申請獎項。 例如,預計將在2024年2025月畢業,但要到31年才畢業的學生,仍然要到2027年2024月XNUMX日才能領取獎項。 但是,該學生最初計劃畢業後,將無法在XNUMX年XNUMX月之後獲得額外的SanJoséAspires資金。 到那時,他們所接受的一切將是當他們進入專上學校時所分發的獎項。

如果我離開合作學校並在其他地方入學怎麼辦?

如果您轉到San José Unified School 或East Side Union High School District 所在的另一所高中,您仍會被San José Aspires 錄取,並且可以繼續進入Students Rishing Above Hub並獲得獎勵。 但是,請告知我們您已經轉移了學校和新學校的名稱,以便我們保持信息的準確性。 您確實需要從聖何西市內的一所高中畢業,才能獲得最終的獎金分配。

SanJoséAspires的目標是成為整個SanJosé的學生都可以申請的計劃,SanJoséAspires可以自行決定是否擴大錄取資格。

證明高等教育入學需要什麼?

這取決於各大專學校。 對於四年制的學院和大學,您可以提交入學證明–在他們完成入學押金後,該證明會發送給學生。 由於社區大學的註冊是自動進行的,因此您需要提交註冊課程的文件。 通常,這是以社區學院學生信息系統的屏幕截圖的形式。 SanJoséAspires將根據需要連繫每個學生。

我如何獲得我的資金?

在學的學生可以在他們的“Scholar Dollars Account”標籤上查看其當前獲得的獎勵 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal。 一旦證明您有資格獲得獎勵(在計劃期限內畢業並就讀專上學校後),您就可以使用您的資金。 SanJoséAspires與花旗銀行(Citibank®)的合作夥伴為所有在校學生提供了 SJ Aspires 活動門戶。 SanJoséAspires將在將任何資金分配給學生之前,確認學生的帳戶餘額與所獲得的獎勵總額相符 SJ Aspires 活動門戶。

我如何使用收到的資金?

SanJoséAspires基金旨在滿足每個學生的專上教育需求。 這可以是學費,雜費,書本,技術和其他與學校相關的費用。 您將在收到資金之前簽署一份分配協議,其中概述了SanJoséAspires獎勵的特定用途。

學生未領取的款項將如何處理?

無人認領的資金將退還給SanJoséAspires計劃。

學生參加聖何西 SanJoséAspires 的家庭是否會對公共福利產生影響?

通過SanJoséAspires收到的資金不會影響家庭的公共利益。 我們正在與花旗銀行(Citibank®)緊密合作,以確保這種情況繼續下去。

SanJoséAspires的稅收含義是什麼?

通過SanJoséAspires收到的資金不作為收入徵稅。 我們正在與花旗銀行(Citibank®)和學校緊密合作,以確保這種情況繼續下去。

父母或監護人可以檢查學生的獎勵狀態嗎?

我們鼓勵父母和監護人直接與您的學生一起交流並探索 SJ Aspires Community Student Portal 如果您需要其他信息或有任何疑問,請發送電子郵件 aspires@sjlibrary.org.

父母或監護人可以讓學生從 San José Aspires 退出嗎?

是。 父母或監護人可以聯繫 aspires@sjlibrary.org 有關如何選擇退出的詳細信息。

Alert message

All library buildings remain closed. Visit an outdoor Express Pickup location when your holds are ready - appointments are available but not required.

SJ Aspires FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions


What are Core Awards?

Core Awards are those that are critical to being a strong applicant for college. These may include earning or maintaining specific GPA levels, submitting college and financial aid applications, and taking the classes you need to be a competitive candidate for the college you want to intend. You can sort by Core Awards on the San José Aspires Awards webpage.

You can receive up to $3,000 through Core Awards. One thing to keep in mind is that you cannot replace one Core Award with another or with a Supplemental Award. If you don’t receive a specific Core Award by the due date, you cannot make up those funds elsewhere.

What are Supplemental Awards?

Supplemental Awards are those things that may increase a your knowledge about college, make you a stronger applicant for colleges, or explore your career goals. Because San José Aspires believes students should explore their interests, you may be able to receive these awards multiple times per year or multiple times while in high school. Think of things like joining clubs, being on athletic or academic teams, obtaining work experience, receiving tutoring, and volunteering. You may sort by Supplemental Awards on the San José Aspires Awards webpage.

During your time in high school, you may receive up to $2,000 in Supplemental Awards. You do not need to do each award; awards can be mixed-and-matched and you may be able to receive some awards multiple times.

How do I show I have what is necessary to receive a San José Aspires award?

It depends on the award. San José Aspires is building out agreements with each district to make receiving of awards as seamless as possible for students and we will work with each school to make this happen. But sometimes you do things that your school does not know about or does not track. For these awards, you will need to submit evidence directly to San José Aspires. Evidence may be submitted in the form of photos or documents, and San José Aspires will have templates you can use or you can create your own evidence. San José Aspires has a built-in system where you can submit evidence to the program.

Because of the scope of San José Aspires and the number of students involved, we will double-check a random sample of evidence submitted by students. For this reason, evidence will need to be verified by an adult (for instance, a supervisor who oversaw a student’s volunteer experience or an after-school support provider who tutored a student). San José Aspires reserves the right to audit the evidence submitted by students. Students who are found to be submitting false evidence may be removed from the program. That decision is at the discretion of San José Aspires.

How do I know I have been awarded my awards?

San José Aspires will send out an email to you after giving you credit for an award. All awards will be tracked in a database, and students can email San José Aspires at anytime to learn how much they have received to date.

Over the long-term, San José Aspires hopes to add additional functionality to its database so students can log-in individually and verify their progress.

When do the I receive the actual funds?

You receive your San José Aspires funds when you confirm enrollment at any non-profit post-secondary institution. San José Aspires understands that each student has different interests and career goals, and San José Aspires wants to support you as you achieve these goals. You can attend a community college, non-profit trade school, or four-year college or university.

What if I decide I don’t want to attend a post-secondary school right after high school?

San José Aspires understands that students may take time off after high school graduation for a variety of reasons. You will have up to three years after your projected graduation date to claim your award.

For example, a student who began 9th grade at Overfelt High School in the Fall of 2020 will be projected to graduate in June 2024. This means, they will have until December 31, 2027 to claim their San José Aspires award.

What if I don't graduate from high school on the projected timeline?

You will still have until three years after your projected graduation year to claim your award. For example, a student who is projected to graduate in June of 2024, but doesn’t graduate until 2025, will still have until December 31, 2027 to claim their award. However, the student cannot receive additional San José Aspires funds after June 2024, when they were originally projected to graduate. Whatever they have received to that point will be what will be distributed when they enroll in a post-secondary school.

What if I leave my partner school and enroll elsewhere?

If you transfer to another high school that is in either San José Unified School District or East Side Union High School District, you are still enrolled in San José Aspires and can continue to access the Students Rising Above Hub and receive awards. However, please let us know that you have transferred schools and the name of your new school so we can keep our information accurate. You do need to graduate from a high school that is within the City of San José to receive your final award distribution.

San José Aspires goal is to be available to students throughout the City, and San José Aspires may expand eligibility at its own discretion.

What does it take to prove post-secondary enrollment?

It really depends on the post-secondary school. For four-year colleges and universities, you may submit your enrollment verification – this is sent to the student after they have made the enrollment deposit. Since enrollment is automatic for community colleges, you submit evidence you have registered for classes. Usually, this has been in the form of screenshots from the community college’s student information system. San José Aspires will follow-up with each student as needed.

How do I receive my funds?

Currently, students are receiving their funds in the form of a debit card. Furthermore, you will be informed as to how the funds will be distributed before receiving them.

How can I spend the funds I receive?

San José Aspires funds are intended to support each student’s post-secondary educational needs. This can be tuition, fees, books, technology, and other school-related expenses. You will sign an allocation agreement before receiving your funds that outlines the specific uses for San José Aspires award.

What happens to funds students do not claim?

Unclaimed funds are returned to the San José Aspires program.

Is there any impact on public benefits for families with students participating in San José Aspires?

No, funds received through San José Aspires will not impact a family’s public benefits. We are working closely with potential banking partners to ensure this continues.

What are the tax implications of San José Aspires?

Funds received through San José Aspires are not taxed as income. We are working closely with potential banking partners and schools to ensure this continues.

Can parents or guardians opt students out of San José Aspires?

Yes. Parents or guardians may contact sjaspires@sjlibrary.org for details on how to opt-out.