New Mysteries (Hardcover)

Whispers of the dead / Spencer Kope. cover
"A series of bizarre murders--the victims nearly unidentifiable--forces FBI tracker "Steps" Craig to match wits with the most cold-blooded killer he's ever encountered. A pair of severed feet, stored in a portable a cooler, is found in the house of a Federal judge in El Paso. The victim is unknown. The reason the killer went to such trouble--breaking into the judge's house--and what message he intends to send are both mysteries. Magnus "Steps" Craig is part of the elite three-man Special Tracking Unit of the FBI. Called in on special cases where his skills are especially indispensable, Steps is renowned for his incredible ability to find and follow trails over any surface better than anyone else. But there's a secret to his success. Steps has a kind of synesthesia, an ability that allows him to see whatever a person has touched in a unique color--what Steps calls 'shine.' His ability is known to only a few people--his father, the director of the FBI, and his partner, Special Agent Jimmy Donovan. The Special Tracking Unit soon discovers another, earlier victim; again, only the feet were left behind in an icebox. In Spencer Kope's Whispers of the Dead--with few clues besides the body parts left behind--Steps and his team find themselves enmeshed in the most difficult case of their careers. And The Icebox Killer has only just begun"-- Provided by publisher.
The Fleur de Sel murders : a Brittany mystery / Jean-Luc Bannalec ; translated by Sorcha McDonagh. cover
The old salt farmers have always said that the violet scent of the Fleur de Sel at harvest time on the salt marshes of the Guérande Peninsula has been known to cause hallucinations. Commissaire Dupin also starts to believe this when he's attacked out of the blue in the salt works.
Hide and sneak / G.A. McKevett. cover
Savannah Reid of the Midnight Magnolia Detective Agency takes on the case of a rising-star actor whose wife and toddler went missing right before their nanny was found murdered.
The glass room / Ann Cleeves. cover
"DI Vera Stanhope is not one to make friends easily, but her hippy neighbors keep her well-supplied in homebrew and conversation, and somehow bonds have formed. When one of them goes missing, Vera tracks the young woman down to the Writers' House, a country retreat where aspiring authors work on their stories. Things get complicated when a body is discovered, and Vera's neighbor is found with a knife in her hand. Calling in the team, Vera knows that she should hand the case over. She's too close to the main suspect. But the investigation is too tempting, and she's never been one to follow the rules. Somewhere there is a killer who has taken murder off the page and is making it real"-- Provided by publisher.
The marmalade murders / Elizabeth J. Duncan. cover
The competition is friendly and just a little fierce at the annual Llanelen agricultural show as town and country folk gather for the outdoor judging of farm animals and indoor judging of cakes, pies, pastries, chutneys, jams and jellies, along with vegetables, fruit and flowers. But this year, there's a new show category: murder.
Sirens : a novel / Joseph Knox. cover
"The breathtakingly propulsive and stunningly assured debut thriller, perfect for readers of Tana French, Don Winslow and Dennis Lehane A detective goes undercover in Manchester...The mission is suicide. Infiltrating the inner circle of enigmatic criminal Zain Carver is dangerous enough. Pulling it off while also rescuing Isabelle Rossiter, a runaway politician's daughter, from Zain's influence? Impossible. That's why Aidan Waits is the perfect man for the job. Disgraced, emotionally damaged, and despised by his superiors. In other words, completely expendable. But Aidan is a born survivor. And as he works his way deep into Zain's shadowy world, he finds that nothing is as it seems. Zain is a mesmerizing, Gatsby-esque figure who lures young women intohis orbit--women who have a bad habit of turning up dead. But is Zain really responsible? And will Isabelle be next? Before long, Aidan finds himself in over his head, cut loose by his superiors, and dangerously attracted to the wrong woman. How canhe save the girl if he can't even save himself?"-- Provided by publisher.
The dark side of town / Sasscer Hill. cover
McKee, now officially employed by the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau (TPRB), is sent undercover to Saratoga Racetrack to investigate Mars Pizutti, a racehorse trainer whose horses' wins are suspiciously lucky--and lucrative. Fia's bosses believe Pizutti's success is based on illegal drugs and deceitful methods, and they want Fia to work inside his barn to ferret out the truth. But after witnessing the tragic and inexplicable suicide of a jockey, Fia discovers the rider's death is only the tip on an iceberg.
Antique blues / Jane K. Cleland. cover
"When amateur sleuth and antiques expert Josie Prescott is called in to appraise a Japanese woodblock print and vintage guitar for her friend Mo, she's thrilled--until Mo is murdered. It doesn't take her long to pinpoint one suspect: Mo's sister's manipulative boyfriend, who sold her the print-and has now, conveniently, disappeared. Josie's antiques know-how and detective skills soon lead her down an increasingly perplexing trail, scattered with gamblers, extramarital affairs, and under-the-table purchases. Readers will relish a return to Rocky Point with Josie as she works together with her friends--the ambitious young reporter Wes Smith, and Rocky Point's savvy police chief, Ellis Hunter--to sift through the conflicting stories around them and find Mo's killer."--Amazon.com.
Dressed for death in burgundy / Susan C. Shea. cover
"After finding herself mixed up in a murder investigation the previous Summer, Katherine Goff's life simply has not been the same. Her husband has been in the US recording a new album, the Burgundy region locals are finally starting to see her as a real neighbor, and Katherine has even started helping out with 'tourist' excursions. It seems she's finally found her place in the small community of Reigny-sur-Canne. But when Katherine stumbles across a body in the local museum during a tour, she finds herself caught up once again in a whirlwind of gossip and speculation. When the police zero in on her friend Pippa as a suspect, Pippa and Katherine team up to find the real killer and clear her name. However, the more clues they discover, the more the real killer wants them off the trail. When Katherine and Pippa start receiving threats, they must decide what they are more afraid of--the police getting it wrong, or possibly becoming the killer's next targets"--Amazon.com.
The big get-even / Paul Di Filippo. cover
"A disbarred lawyer and an ex-arsonist cross paths and find themselves organizing an elaborate real estate scam to bilk a shady rich speculator out of twenty million dollars. The sting is personal for ex-arsonist Stan and for a woman named Vee, who plays an essential role in the caper. Glen, the narrator and former lawyer, finds himself at first just along for the money. Eventually, as bonds deepen among the conspirators, Glen too discovers he has a lot more at stake than simply the loot."--Book jacket
Robert B. Parker's old black magic / Ace Atkins. cover
"Iconic, tough-but-tender Boston PI Spenser delves into the black market art scene to investigate a decades-long unsolved crime of dangerous proportions. The heist was legendary, still talked about twenty years after the priceless paintings disappeared from one of Boston's premier art museums. Most thought the art was lost forever, buried deep, sold off overseas, or, worse, destroyed as incriminating evidence. But when paint chips from the most valuable piece stolen, Gentlemen in Black by a Spanish master, arrives at the desk of a Boston journalist, the museum finds hope and enlists Spenser's help. Soon the cold art case thrusts Spenser into the shady world of black market art dealers, aged Mafia bosses, and old vendettas. A five-million-dollar-reward by the museum's top benefactor, an aged, unlikable Boston socialite, sets Spenser and pals Vinnie Morris and Hawk onto a trail of hidden secrets, jailhouse confessions, and decades-old murders. Set against the high-society art scene and the low-life back alleys of Boston, this is classic Spenser doing what he does best"-- Provided by publisher.
Gumshoe on the loose / Rob Leininger. cover
"IRS agent-turned-PI Mortimer Angel is relaxing in a hole-in-the-wall bar in a Reno casino when an attractive young girl hires him to find out who left her a cryptic message demanding a million dollars. At the girl's house, Mort finds the body of missing rapper Jonnie Xenon--Jo-X to his legions of fans--hanging from the rafters with two bullet holes in him. Mort is shocked when he learns the identity of the girl's father--and even more shocked when the father hires him to investigate the murder. Mort, being Mort, accumulates a few felonies as he follows the clues to Las Vegas. And along the way, he picks up an alluring young assistant who changes his life--in every conceivable way."--Book jacket.