Alert message

Due to our temporary closures, we are currently not accepting book donations at any location.

Read The Best Comics on Hoopla Right Now

Banner featuring Hoopla Bonus Borrows, feature cover images of Saga, Spiderman, and Minecraft. Text says "Comics You'll Love"

What is Hoopla?

While many popular electronic materials have a wait list, you don't have to worry about that with Hoopla Digital! All materials are available for checkout and ready to enjoy!

Hoopla allows users to read eBooks and eComics, listen to eAudiobooks and music, and watch movies and TV! You can read, watch and listen directly from your browser on your computer, or you can download the app for your device or TV! Please note that you are limited to checking out 10 items per calendar month.

However, Hoopla has recently added Bonus Borrows, which includes over 1,000 titles that do not count toward your monthly limit! You can even checkout these Bonus Borrows after you hit your 10 item limit. Some of these include Minecraft, Spider-Man, Saga, and more! As of now, Bonus Borrows are being offered through 4/30/20.

 

Banner says "new to comics, start here

The Best Comics on Hoopla (To Get You Started)

Hoopla has over 10,000 comics ready to read! Below are some critically acclaimed and staff favorite comics and graphic novels to get anyone started. If you are new to comics, or just looking for your next read, you can also try this useful flowchart from Hoopla to find your next read!

Kids Mode

Kids Mode helps you find titles that are appropriate for your family. When Kids Mode is on, all titles intended for adults are filtered out from search results, browsing titles -- even history, favorites, and the "my hoopla" view. Think of it as the "kids area" of your local library.

You can turn Kids Mode on or off under the Settings menu. The "hoopla Kids Mode" banner is shown when it's on.

 

Comics for Kids

New Kid, book cover

New Kid Jerry Craft

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real. Winner of the Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award.

Lumberjanes, book cover

Lumberjanes Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson

Best friends Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley spend a fun summer at Miss Qiunzella's Camp for Hardcore Lady Types, where they encounter yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons while solving a mystery that holds the fate of the world in the balance. Vol. 1 is a Bonus Borrow!

 

El Deafo, book cover

El Deafo Cece Bell

In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful-and very awkward-hearing aid. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become "El Deafo, Listener for All." And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she's longed for.

Gravity Falls: Lost Legends, book cover

Gravity Falls: Lost Legends Alex Hirsch

A collection of four all-new strange stories from the sleepy town of Gravity Falls in one original graphic novel. "Captures the funny and weird that made Gravity Falls a hit tv show.  Stories involve monsters stealing faces, multiple Mabels, and an interdimensional jewel thief." - Recommended by Robert

The Complete Big Nate, book cover

The Complete Big Nate Lincoln Peirce

The Complete Big Nate collects every daily and Sunday cartoon ever syndicated. Presented in a numbered series of e-books, each containing one year's worth of strips, this is a goldmine for all Big Nate fans to see many cartoons that have never been published in books. Vol. 8 is a Bonus Borrow!

Comics for Teens

Giant Days , book cover

Giant Days John Allison and Lissa Treiman

Susan, Esther, and Daisy started at university three weeks ago and became fast friends because their dorm rooms were next to each other. Now, away from home for the first time, all three want to reinvent themselves. But in the face of influenza, mystery-mold, nu-chauvinism, and the willful, unwanted intrusion of "academia," they may be lucky just to make it to spring alive.

They Called Us Enemy, book cover

They Called Us Enemy George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott

Before George Takei braved new frontiers in Star Trek, he woke up as a four-year-old boy to find his own birth country at war with his father's-and their entire family forced from their home into an uncertain future. Takei revisits his haunting childhood in American concentration camps, as one of over 100,000 Japanese Americans imprisoned by the U.S. government during World War II. Experience this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love. This graphic memoir is a Bonus Borrow!

Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina, book cover

Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Robert Hack

On the eve of her sixteenth birthday, the young sorceress Sabrina Spellman finds herself at a crossroads, having to choose between an unearthly destiny and her mortal boyfriend, Harvey. But a foe from her family's past has arrived in Greendale and she has her own deadly agenda. "If you want even more Chilling Adventures then what you can get from Netflix, check out the origin. This version of the story is almost darker than its Netflix counterpart." - Recommended by Jess

Herding Cats: A Sarah's Scribbles Collection, book cover

Herding Cats: A Sarah's Scribbles Collection Sarah Andersen

Sarah valiantly struggles with waking up in the morning, being productive, and dealing with social situations. Sarah's Scribbles is the comic strip that follows her life, finding humor in living as an adulting introvert that is at times weird, awkward, and embarrassing.

Batman: The Long Halloween, book cover

Batman: The Long Halloween Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale

Taking place during Batman's early days of crime fighting, this new edition of the classic mystery tells the story of a mysterious killer who murders his prey only on holidays. Working with District Attorney Harvey Dent and Lieutenant James Gordon, Batman races against the clock as he tries to discover who Holiday is before he claims his next victim each month.

American Gods, book cover

American Gods Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell and Scott Hampton

Shadow Moon gets out of jail only to discover his wife is dead. Defeated, broke, and uncertain where to go from here, he meets the mysterious Mr. Wednesday, who employs him to serve as his bodyguard--thrusting Shadow into a deadly world where ghosts of the past come back from the dead, and a god war is imminent. - Recommended by Jess

Comics for Adults

Snow, Glass, Apples, book cover

Snow, Glass, Apples Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran

A chilling fantasy retelling of the Snow White fairy tale, a not-so-evil queen is terrified of her monstrous stepdaughter and determined to repel this creature and save her kingdom from a world where happy endings aren't so happily ever after. The graphic novel is a Bonus Borrow!

Saga, book cover

Saga Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in a subversive drama. Arguably the most captivating comic series of the decade, if you haven't read Saga before, now is your chance! Vol. 1 is a Bonus Borrow! 

Protip: After you've tried the 1st volume, borrow the deluxe editions from then on. Each are 400+ pages and gives you 3 volumes for the price of 1 checkout.

To Drink and to Eat, book cover

To Drink and to Eat Guillaume Long

If you want to take your culinary skills from cook to master chef, you'll need to know a few things. What are the tried-and-true utensils every master chef's kitchen should have? Which recipe should you have in your back pocket for preparing to perfection at a moment's notice? Guillaume Long has asked and answered all your culinary questions. One part cookbook, one part graphic memoir.

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?, book cover

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? Philip K. Dick and Tony Parker

"A big one at over 600 pages depicting the classic short story that became the movie Blade Runner. Deckard hunts rogue androids in a post-apocalyptic world. People dial in their emotions, and keeping an animal is a status symbol (and sign of empathy)." - Recommended by Robert

Fables, book cover

Fables Bill Willingham

When a savage creature known only as the Adversary conquered the fabled lands of legends and fairy tales, all of the infamous inhabitants of folklore were forced into exile. Disguised among the normal citizens of modern-day New York, these magical characters have created their own peaceful and secret society within an apartment building called Fabletown. But when Snow White's sister goes missing, it is up to Fabletown's sheriff, a reformed and pardoned Big Bad Wolf, to determine who is responsible.

Locke & Key, book cover

Locke & Key Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

After a tragedy, the Locke family moves back into their family homestead, Keyhouse, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them... and home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all... A captivating and haunting series full of mystery that will keep you guessing and up all night!

 

The Wicked + The Divine, book cover

The Wicked + The Divine Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. Gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. A contemporary fantasy full of mystery, ethereal concert experiences, and snarky social media updates. Vol. 1 is a Bonus Borrow!

Blog Category
Adult Fiction
Adult Nonfiction
Graphic Novels
Kids
Teens

Add new comment

Comments are expected to follow the basic rules of civility and be relevant to the topic being commented upon. Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Blog comments represent the views of the person commenting, not necessarily those of San José Public Library. For more information see SJPL's Comment Guidelines.